Awards, Fellowships and Grants


  • Benjamin Smith – Babbitt Dissertation Fellowship, 2023 Description

    The Lincoln Institute’s Babbitt Dissertation Fellowship Program assists Ph.D. students at U.S. universities whose research builds on, and contributes to, the integration of land and water policy to advance water sustainability and resilience, particularly in the West. Administered through the Babbitt Center for Land and Water Policy at the Lincoln Institute of Land Policy, the program provides a link between the Institute’s educational mission and its research objectives by supporting scholars early in their careers.

  • Benjamin Smith – Amy Morse Prize, 2020
  • Erik James – Morse Award, 2019
  • Erik James – NSF Graduate Research Fellowshop Program – Honorable Mention, 2018